SPROUTS HOME | FIRST TIME VISITORS | ABOUT | BOARD | GUIDE for AUTHORS | FAQ |CONTACT US
sprouts Login | Create Account AIS
Working Papers on Information Systems ISSN 1535-6078
Browse by: Year | Tag | Author | Organization | Proceedings
Advanced search

A Theory of Clinic-EHR Affordance Actualization

Diane M. Strong
Worcester Polytechnic Institute, U.S.A.
Olga Volkoff
Simon Fraser University, Canada
Sharon A. Johnson
Worcester Polytechnic Institute, U.S.A.
Lori R. Pelletier
Worcester Polytechnic Institute, U.S.A.
Isa Bar-On
Worcester Polytechnic Institute, U.S.A.
Bengisu Tulu
Worcester Polytechnic Institute, U.S.A.
Nitu Kashyap
Fallon Clinic, U.S.A.
John Trudel
Fallon Clinic, U.S.A.
Lawrence Garber
Fallon Clinic, U.S.A.


Abstract
To build theory about how to achieve expected benefits from a system implementation, we conducted a longitudinal study of the implementation of an electronic health record (EHR) system at a multi-site clinic using grounded theory methods and a critical realist perspective. We developed a mid-level process theory of how clinics actualize affordances arising from the implementation of an EHR. In so doing we complement the work of Markus and Silver (2008) in their application of Gibson’s Affordance Theory to the understanding of IT effects on organizations. Specifically, we replace the DeSanctis and Poole (1994) concept of appropriation with a new concept, actualization, and show how the individual level journeys of users as they actualize affordances as perceived from their various personal perspectives result in the organizational level outcomes. In building this mid-level theory, we identify the central affordances pertaining to the clinic-EHR relation and in so doing, provide an example of how to define affordances and how to conduct empirical studies using an Affordance Theory lens. Our theory should prove useful to practitioners implementing such systems.

Full Text Document:
[img]
Preview
PDF 563Kb
Reference:Strong, D. M., Volkoff, O., Johnson, S. A., Pelletier, L. R. , Bar-On, I., Tulu, B. , Kashyap, N., Trudel, J., Garber, L. (2009). "A Theory of Clinic-EHR Affordance Actualization," Proceedings > Proceedings of JAIS Theory Development Workshop . Sprouts: Working Papers on Information Systems, 9(47). http://sprouts.aisnet.org/9-47
Keywords:Electronic health records, affordances, critical realism, grounded theory
Item Type:Article - Volume 9 Article 47 (2009)
Language:English
Email: Diane M. Strong (dstrong@wpi.edu)
Olga Volkoff (ovolkoff@sfu.ca)
Sharon A. Johnson (sharon@wpi.edu)
Lori R. Pelletier (pelletier@wpi.edu)
Isa Bar-On (ibaron@wpi.edu)
Bengisu Tulu (bengisu@wpi.edu)
Nitu Kashyap (Nitu.Kashyap@fallonclinic.org)
John Trudel (John.Trudel@fallonclinic.org)
Lawrence Garber (Lawrence.Garber@fallonclinic.org)

Repository Staff Only: item control page

Show Tags

Tag this item: